In 1936, there were 2 Khoh related organizations in Singapore. They are Singapore
Gaoyang Association and Khoh Family Cooperative. Both associations were
established with the aim of facilitating liaison and support to fellow clansmen.
However in February 1942, both associations had to cease operation during the
After the Japanese surrendered in 1945, the 2 associations merged and formed the
current Singapore Khoh Clan Association. The Singapore Khoh Clan Association was
formally registered in 1953.
The Association purchased the building at 81 Amoy Street for $55,000 in 1954. This
building was offcially opened in 1958 after renovation.
In 1962, the Association established the mutual aid department. The aim of this
department was to provide assistance to clansmen needs such as Chinese funeral
music troupe, banners, etc., during their time of bereavement.
In order to facilitate and encourage better education for the children of our clansmen,
the Association started awarding scholarships and disbursing bursaries in 1973. This
is done during the annual Lunar New Year celebrations. The award money is
generously donated by the members.
1995 to present
In 1995, after 40 years, the Management Committee started to plan for the renovation
of the Association building. This was carried out from 1999 to 2001, at the costs of
about $700,000. The splendid building now boast 3 storeys; the first floor consists of
an open space that is used as the clan's office and for official activities, also including
a karaoke room available for rental to members. The second and third floors are
rented out to external organizations for commercial purposes.